NNS Campaign- Research

This piece of work is a rough, first edition to my analysis and research into various campaigns throughout some of history. I have written key words around each pictureFullSizeRender (4) which highlights the elements of the advertisement. The purpose of this is so that when i’m thinking of initial ideas for my NSS Campaign poster I can refer  back to this as inspiration so that these key element from well known campaigns can be incorporated in my own work. I will be adding to this analysis stage throughout next week.

In my research I looked into world war 2 propaganda posters. There were enforced to persuade people to join in the war effort and their purpose was also to intimidate other countries. What I like about these types of posters is their directness with the message. This is done by the vibrant and contrasting colour we-want-youscheme (which gets the attention of the audience) and the illustrations are intimidating and persuasive.

One character that was the most recognizable and influential, was a illustration called “Uncle Sam”. Although most people recognize this from the world wars, it was actually first used in 1812 and the name “Uncle Sam” was a nickname for the U.S Government. I really like this character and I would like to include him in my work but I will put a different spin to it.